********************************
Sent at the request of Lawrence Shirley.
********************************
TOPIC STUDY GROUP 36:  THE ROLE OF ETHNOMATHEMATICS IN MATHEMATICS EDUCATION

TSG-36  Session I   Tuesday, July 10, 10:30 - 12:00  (field examples)

Welcome and Introduction: Pedro Palhares and Lawrence Shirley, co-chairs

LONG:
0439
A   Ethnomathematics in Resettled Indigenous Communities Whose Language and Children were once Alienated    Owens Kay , Charles Sturt University , Australia , kowens@csu.edu.au
               
SHORT:
0376
B   AN INVESTIGATION OF THE MATHEMATICAL NATURE OF THE DAI CULTURE SOUTH-WEST YUNNAN PROVINCE, CHINA        ZHOU Chang-jun , Dehong Teachers' College , China , zhcj5958@sina.com
SHEN Yu-hong , Yunnan , China , shenyuhonghz@163.com
YANG Qi-xiang , China , China , zhcj5958@sina.com

POSTER:
1808
C   Mathematical ideas of illiterate vegetables vendors,Hoshangabad, Madhya Pradesh, India  BHADKE SHISHIR , Atomic Energy Central School , India , shishirbhadke@gmail.com

POSTER:
1797
C   Research into the mingling of the Tibetan Calendar with circumjacent mathematical culture       XIAWU Cai Rang , Northwest University for Nationalities , China , jsxwcr@xbmu.edu.cn

POSTER:
0552
C   Surviving in North: How to bridge Inuit culture and mathematics     Savard Annie , McGill University , Canada , annie.savard@mcgill.ca
 

TSG-36  Session II   Wednesday, July 11, 10:30 - 12:00 (pedagogy)

LONG:
1121
A   Ways to look upon ethnomathematics, teacher education and mathematics learning: rethinking the meaning of the students' prerequisite and the teacher's listening        Domite Maria do Carmo , USP , Brazil , mcdomite@gmail.com

SHORT:
1051
B   Fostering Creativity in Mathematics Teaching through Inquiry into Geometry of Cultural Artifacts        Verner Igor , Technion - Israel Institute of Technology , Israel , ttrigor@technion.ac.il
Massarwe Khayriah , Technion - Israel Institute of Technology , Israel , massarwe@techunix.technion.ac.il
Bshouty Daoud , Technion - Israel Institute of Technology , Israel , daoud@tx.technion.ac.il

SHORT:
0701
B   Embracing Indigenous Mathematical Knowledge Systems: Mathematics Teachers' Investigations of Ethnomathematics through Immersion in Indigenous African Cultures  Chahine Iman , Georgia State University , United States , ichahine@gsu.edu

POSTER:
0782
C   Analysis on impacts of lessons involving ethnomathematics in upper-basic education of Zambia ~Focusing on geometry education~   Kimura Mitsuhiro , Hiroshima university , Japan , k.mitsuhiro0930@gmail.com

POSTER:
0294
C   Investigating the cultural appreciation on mathematics textbooks in China and the U.S.  Ji Xueying , Michigan State University , United States , snowgirl117@msn.com
Herbel-Eisenmann Beth , Michigan State University , United States , bhe@msu.edu
Paine Lynn , Michigan State University , United States , painel@msu.edu

POSTER:
1832
C   MATHEMATICAL OBJECTS, GAMES, AND THINKING DEVELOPED OUTSIDE Reddu Tegegne Hilluf , ADDIS ABABA UNIVERSITY , Ethiopia , hillufagow99@yahoo.com
 

TSG-36  Session III   Friday, July 13, 11:00 - 12:30 (examples into theory)

LONG:
0362
A   Exploring connections between local and global mathematics      Latas Joana , CIEP-U Evora , Portugal , joanarblatas@gmail.com

SHORT:
0361
B   Mathematics in/and/or Mathematics       Miarka Roger , UDESC , Brazil , romiarka@gmail.com
Bicudo Maria A. V. , UNESP , Brazil , mariabicudo@gmail.com

SHORT:
1799
B   Ethnomodeling as a Pedagogical Action for Uncovering Ethnomathematical Practices        Rosa Milton , Centro de Educacao Aberta e a Distancia , Brazil , milton@cead.ufop.br
Clark Orey Daniel , Universidadde Federal de Ouro Preto , Brazil , oreydc@cead.ufop.br

POSTER:
0508
C   Blending 'pure' and 'impure' mathematics together: envisioning a contextualised mathematics education via inclusive logics      Luitel Bal , Kathmandu University , Nepal , bcluitel@yahoo.com

POSTER:
0777
C   National Mathematics Culture Walk into Campus??The Mathematical Culture of Miao and Dong as an Example  Ju Xiao , Kaili Universty , China , xsj20056@163.com

POSTER:
1005
C   Exploring Mathematics in Motherly Nature: An Autoethnographic Inquiry       Poudel Amrit , Kathmandu University , Nepal , amritpoudyal@gmail.com


TSG-36  Session IV   Saturday, July 14, 10:30 - 12:00 (working with theory)

LONG:
0970
A   Ethnomathematics in non-formal educational settings: The Urban Boundaries Project       Pais Alexandre , Department of learning and philosophy , Denmark , xande@learning.aau.dk
Mesquita Monica , Aalborg University , Portugal , harmoni4@mac.com

SHORT:
1796
B   How Anthropology can Contribute to Mathematics Education        Pinxten Rik , University Ghent , Belgium , hendrik.pinxten@UGent.be

Francois Karen , Free University Brussels , Belgium , karen.francois@vub.ac.be

SHORT:
1074
B   The interdisciplinarity of ethnomathematics: challenges of ethnomathematics to mathematics and its education    Rohrer Andrea , Universidade Estadual Paulista (UNESP) , Brazil , andrea.rohrer@gmail.com

POSTER:
1795
C   The Freedom of Knowledge: Asphalt Academics and Asphalt Mesquita Monica , Lisbon University , Portugal , mbmesquita@ie.ul.pt
Restivo Sal , Lisbon University , Portugal , mbmesquita@ie.ul.pt

POSTER:
1263
C   From the reading of mathematical knowledge in cultural background to the conditions of the transmission of these knowledge      Alexandre Mopondi-Bendeko , GREMA IREM Paris 7 , France , bendekomopondi@yahoo.fr
Fiancee-Gernavey Bantaba , GREMA IREM Paris 7 , France , fbantaba@ac-orleans-tours.fr

POSTER:
1815
C   ON THE INSTRUCTION OF LANGUAGES, INCLUDING THAT OF THE MATHEMATICAL LANGUAGES   Baksi Pradip , to be filled later , India , pradipbaksi@gmail.com


SUMMARIZING AND CLOSING

*************************************************

-- 
Jerry P. Becker
Dept. of Curriculum & Instruction
Southern Illinois University
625 Wham Drive
Mail Code 4610
Carbondale, IL  62901-4610
Phone:  (618) 453-4241  [O]
            (618) 457-8903  [H]
Fax:      (618) 453-4244
E-mail:   jbecker@siu.edu