Drexel dragonThe Math ForumDonate to the Math Forum

Search All of the Math Forum:

Views expressed in these public forums are not endorsed by Drexel University or The Math Forum.

Math Forum » Discussions » Policy and News » mathed-news

Topic: ICME12 - TSG 28: Final program
Replies: 0  

Advanced Search

Back to Topic List Back to Topic List  
Jerry P. Becker

Posts: 14,475
Registered: 12/3/04
ICME12 - TSG 28: Final program
Posted: Jun 29, 2012 5:17 PM
  Click to see the message monospaced in plain text Plain Text   Click to reply to this topic Reply
att1.html (9.1 K)

Sent at the request of Candia Morgan and Tracy Craig.
TSG 28: Language and Communication in Mathematics Education

Time: July 10 Tue, July 11 Wed, July 14 Sat,
10:30-12:00 / July 13 Fri, 15:00-16:30
Location: Conference Room 314, 315

Co-chairs: Tracy Craig(South Africa) Tracy.craig@uct.ac.za
Candia Morgan(UK) c.morgan@ioe.ac.uk

Team Members:
Marcus Schuette(Germany) schuette@math.uni-frankfurt.de
Rae Young Kim(Korea) kimrae@ewha.ac.kr
David Wagner(Canada) dwagner@unb.ca

Liaison IPC Member:
Oh Nam Kwon onkwon@snu.ac.kr


Session I July 10 Tue, 10:30-12:00

Room 314

A study of the process of reading the various
components of mathematical language: Some
examples of the failed process in university
Ismaïl Mili , Université de Montreal , Canada , ismail.mili@umontreal.ca

An investigation of the mathematical writing
abilities of students in a public elementary
school in Japan
Tadashi Misono , Shimane University , Japan , misono@edu.shimane-u.ac.jp
Kenji Takeda , Chubu Elementary School , Japan , mihotti0907@gmail.com

Discursive negotiation of mathematical contention in small group discussions
Andrea Gellert , University of Duisburg-Essen ,
Germany , andrea.gellert@uni-due.de

Characteristics of students' proportional
reasoning based on Peirce's semiotic model
Jung Sook Park , Tareng High School , Korea , pjsook@nate.com

Room 315
Student and teacher positioning in a conversation
about the size and shape of a TV
Gert Monstad Hana , Bergen University College , Norway , gmh@hib.no
Toril Eskeland Rangnes , Bergen University College , Norway , tera@hib.no

Equity in mathematics classrooms: assessment
discourses in day-to-day communication
Lisa Bjorklund Boistrup , Stockholm University ,
Sweden , lisa.boistrup@mnd.su.se
Eva Norén , Stockholm University , Sweden , eva.noren@mnd.su.se

Looking without seeing and hearing without
listening: Exclusion of students during
mathematical communication
Carlos Lopez Leiva , University of New Mexico ,
United States , callopez@unm.edu

Identity construction in collaborative learning -
a communicational method of analysis
Einat Heyd-Metzuyanim , The Hebrew University , Israel , einat.metz@gmail.com

Session II, July 11 Wed, 10:30-12:00

Room 314

10:30-11:30 Plenary panel discussion:
Theoretical and methodological issues in studying
language in mathematics education
Einat Heyd-Metzuyanim , The Hebrew University , Israel , einat.metz@gmail.com
Candia Morgan, Institute of Education University
of London, United Kingdom, c.morgan@ioe.ac.uk
Maire Ni Riordain , St. Patrick's College , Ireland , mniriordain@stpats.ie

11:30-12:00 Poster session: an opportunity to
view the posters submitted for this TSG and to
discuss with poster presenters

Session III, Friday, July 13, 15:00-16:30

Room 314

The influence of bilingualism on mathematical
problem solving at third level education in
Maire Ni Riordain , St. Patrick's College , Ireland , mniriordain@stpats.ie
Aisling McCluskey, National University of
Ireland, Ireland, aisling.mccluskey@nuigalway.ie

Experiences of non-English students in writing
for learning in mathematical problem-solving
Tracy Craig , University of Cape Town , South Africa , Tracy.Craig@uct.ac.za

The construction of fractions while solving
problems in interaction: The case of pair work
Edelmira Badillo , Universitat Autonoma de
Barcelona , Spain , Edelmira.Badillo@uab.cat
Núria Planas , Universitat Autonoma de Barcelona , Spain , Nuria.Planas@uab.cat
Manuel Goizueta , Universitat Autonoma de
Barcelona , Spain , Manuel.Goizueta@uab.cat
Anna Manrique , Universitat Autonoma Barcelona , Spain , Anna.Manrique@uab.cat

Identification of the students' progress in the
mathematics classroom: The case of whole group
Judit Chico , Universitat Autonoma de Barcelona , Spain , Judit.Chico@uab.cat
Núria Planas , Universitat Autonoma de Barcelona , Spain , Nuria.Planas@uab.cat
Manuel Goizueta , Universitat Autonoma de
Barcelona , Spain , Manuel.Goizueta@uab.cat

Room 315

Questioning: an important dialogic act for mathematics learning?
Raquel Milani , State University of Sao Paulo
(UNESP) , Brazil , raqmilani@yahoo.com.br

How does storytelling complement formal proof?
Ji Hyun Lee , Seoul National University , Korea , leeji_hyun@naver.com
Gidon Lee, Seoul National University , Korea , tracer0@empal.com
Gyuhee Lee , Seoul National University , Korea , narara292@snu.ac.kr
Gunuk Kim , Seoul National University , Korea , gunugi@naver.com
Younggi Choi , Seoul National University , Korea , yochoi@snu.ac.kr

The language in mathematics textbooks; Impact on
views on the nature of mathematics.
Lisa O'Keeffe , University of Limerick , Ireland , lisa.okeeffe@ul.ie
John O'Donoghue , University of Limerick , Ireland , john.odonoghue@ul.ie

Investigating the evolution of school mathematics
through the lens of examinations: Developing an
analytic framework
Sarah Tang , Institute of Education University of
London , United Kingdom , s.tang@ioe.ac.uk
Candia Morgan , Institute of Education University
of London , United Kingdom , c.morgan@ioe.ac.uk
Anna Sfard , University of Haifa , Israel , sfard@netvision.net.il

Session IV July 14, Sat, 10:30-12:00

Room 314

Unknown Occurrences of Polysemy in English Mathematics Classrooms
Gale Russell , University of Saskatchewan , Canada , gale.russell@usask.ca
Egan Chernoff , University of Saskatchewan , Canada , egan.chernoff@usask.ca

False Friends in the Multilingual Mathematics Classroom
Cris Edmonds-Wathen , RMIT University , Australia
, cris.edmondswathen@student.rmit.edu.au

Teaching and learning mathematics in a non-native
language introduction of the CLIL methodology in
Laura Maffei , Dipartimento di Matematica , Italy , lau.maffei@gmail.com
Franco Favilli , Universita di Pisa , Italy , favilli@dm.unipi.it
Roberto Peroni , Dipartimento di Matematica , Italy , roper@ling.unipi.it

Room 315

Combining theories to analyze classroom discourse: An example
Talli Nachlieli , Levinsky College of Education , Israel , talli@nachlieli.net
Michal Tabach , Tel Aviv University , Israel , tabachm@post.tau.ac.il

Redirecting, progressing and focusing actions
Ove Gunnar Drageset , University of Tromso , Norway , ove.drageset@uit.no

Linguistic intercourse with spatial perception in
primary school, infant school and the family
Marcus Schuette , University of Hamburg , Germany
, schuette@math.uni-hamburg.de
Nele Oldhaver, University of Hamburg, Germany , nele.oldhaver@uni-hamburg.de

Final Plenary Discussion & TSG 28 Closing

Jerry P. Becker
Dept. of Curriculum & Instruction
Southern Illinois University
625 Wham Drive
Mail Code 4610
Carbondale, IL 62901-4610
Phone: (618) 453-4241 [O]
(618) 457-8903 [H]
Fax: (618) 453-4244
E-mail: jbecker@siu.edu

Point your RSS reader here for a feed of the latest messages in this topic.

[Privacy Policy] [Terms of Use]

© The Math Forum 1994-2015. All Rights Reserved.