Drexel dragonThe Math ForumDonate to the Math Forum



Search All of the Math Forum:

Views expressed in these public forums are not endorsed by Drexel University or The Math Forum.


Math Forum » Discussions » Policy and News » mathed-news

Topic: ICME12 - TSG 9: Final program
Replies: 0  

Advanced Search

Back to Topic List Back to Topic List  
Jerry P. Becker

Posts: 13,285
Registered: 12/3/04
ICME12 - TSG 9: Final program
Posted: Jul 2, 2012 2:53 PM
  Click to see the message monospaced in plain text Plain Text   Click to reply to this topic Reply

***************************
Sent at the request of Luis Puig.
***************************
TOPIC STUDY GROUP 9 -- TEACHING AND LEARNING OF ALGEBRA

Time: July 10 Tue, July 11 Wed, July 14 Sat,
10:30-12:00 / July 13 Fri, 15:00-16:30
Location: Conference Rooms 309, 310

Organizers
Co-chairs:
Rakhi Banerjee (India) rakhi.banerjee@gmail.com, rakhi@aud.ac.in
Luis Puig(Spain) luis.puig@uv.es

Team Members
Swee Fong Ng (Singapore) sweefong.ng@nie.edu.sg
Armando Solares (Mexico) asolares@cinvestav.mx
Hwakyung Kim( Korea) hwakyung@gmail.com

Liaison IPC Member
Masataka Koyama mkoyama@hiroshima-u.ac.jp

Session I July 10 Tue, 10:30-12:00

Room 309

10:30-11:00 For the whole group: General introduction

11:00-11:30 Critical aspects as a means to
develop students learning to simplify rational
expressions
Olteanu Constanta, Linnaeus University, Sweden, constanta.olteanu@lnu.se

11:30-11:45 An analysis of fraction operation
sense to enhance early algebraic thinking
JiYoung Lee, Paldal Elementary School, Korea, ez038@naver.com
JeongSuk Pang, Korea National University of
Education, Korea, jeongsuk@knue.ac.kr

11:45-12:00 Whole group discussion

Room 310

11:00-11:30 K-8 pre-service teachers' inductive
reasoning behaviors in problem solving
contexts
Marta T. Magiera, Marquette University, USA, marta.magiera@marquette.edu

11:30-11:45 Effective professional development to
foster students' functional thinking
Nasim Asghary, Ahmad Shahvarani, Islamic Azad University, Iran,
nasimsana@yahoo.com, maths_ahmad@yahoo.com
Ali Reza Medghalchi, Tarbiiat Moallem University of Tehran, Iran,
a_medghalchi@tmu.ac.ir

Session II, July 11 Wed, 10:30-12:00

Room 309

10:30-11:00 Seeing through students' eyes: The best-help strategy for patten
generalisation
Chua Boon Liang, Nanyang Technological
University, Singapore, boonliang.chua@nie.edu.sg
Celia Hoyles, London Knowledge Lab, Institute of
Education, United Kingdom, C.Hoyles@ioe.ac.uk

11:00-11:15 Continuing patterns as a component of
algebraic thinking? An interview
study with primary school students
Torsten Fritzlar, University of Halle-Wittenberg,
Germany, torsten.fritzlar@paedagogik.uni-halle.de
Nadja Karpinski-Siebold, University of
Halle-Wittenberg, Germany,
Nadja.Karpinski-Siebold@t-online.de

11:15-11:30 First grade students' early
patterning competence on figural and numerical
squences: Cross-country comparisons between Hongkong and the United
States
Ferdinand Rivera, San Jose StateUniversity, USA, ferdinand.rivera@sjsu.edu
Chi Keung Eddie Leung, Hongkong Institute of
Education, Hong Kong, ckleung@ied.edu.hk
Gunter Krauthausen, Universitat Hamburg, Germany, krauthausen@uni-hamburg.de

11:30-11:45 Exploration into cultural aspects of
mathematics generalisation: Young
Australian Indigenous students
Jodie Miller, Australian Catholic University,
Australia, jodie.miller@acu.edu.au
Elizabeth Warren, Australian Catholic University,
Australia, Elizabeth.warren@acu.edu.au

11:45-12:00 Whole group discussion

Room 310

10:30-11:00 Students' understanding of the
generality of algebraic proofs and operative
proof in secondary school mathematics education
Hiroyuki Sasa, Kumamoto University, Japan, sasa@educ.kumamoto-u.ac.jp
Masayuki Hiwaki, Mizukami Junior high school, Japan, good51masa@yahoo.co.jp
Shinya Yamamoto, Kumamoto University, Japan, shinya@gpo.kumamoto-u.ac.jp
Taro Fujita, University of Plymouth, United Kingdom, taro.fujita@plymouth.ac.uk

11:00-11:15 Structure of algebraic proficiency
Reinhard Oldenburg, Univeristy of Frankfurt,
Germany, oldenbur@math.uni-frankfurt.de

11:15-11:30 An analysis of elementary school
patterning competence on figural and
numerical squences: Number
JiYoung Choi, Daedong Elementary School, Korea, ji2006@empal.com
JeongSuk Pang, Korea National University of
Education, Korea, jeongsuk@knue.ac.kr

11:30-11:45 Errors in algebraic statements
translation during the creation of an algebraic
domino
Marta Molina, University of Granada, Spain, martamg@ugr.es
Susana Rodriguez-Domingo, Universidad de Granada, Spain, susanard@ugr.es
Maria C. Cañadas, Universidad de Granada, Spain, mconsu@ugr.es
Encarnacion Castro, Universidad de Granada, Spain, encastro@ugr.es

Session III, Friday, July 13, 15:00-16:30

Room 309

15:00-15:30 From quasi-variable thinking to
algebraic thinking: A study with grade 4 students
Celia Mestre, Educacao da Universidade, Portucal, celiamestre@hotmail.com
Helia Oliveira, Unidade de Investigacao do
Instituto de Educacao da Universidade de Lisboa,
Portugal, hmoliveira@ie.ul.pt

15:30-15:45 Working with an online game as an entry point to algebraic thinking
Angeliki Kolovou, Utrecht University, Netherlands, a.kolovou@uu.nl
Marja Van den Heuvel-Panhuizen, Utrecht
University, Netherlands,
m.vandenheuvel-panhuizen@uu.nl
Olaf Koller, Freudenthal Institute for Science
and Mathematics Education, Germany,
koeller@ipn.uni-kiel.de

15:45-16:00 Developing function sense in middle
school: Approaches in standardsbased
and traditional curricula
John Moyer, Marquette University, USA, johnm@mscs.mu.edu
Jinfa Cai, University of Delaware, United States, jcai@math.udel.edu
Nie Bikai, University of Delaware, United States, nie@math.udel.edu

16:00-16:15 An investigation into current
situation of algebra instruction in China
Shuping PU, Department of Mathematics, China, Shupingpu@126.com

16:15-16:30 Whole group discussion

Room 310

15:00-15:30 A theoretical framework for
understanding the different attention resource
demands of letter-symbolic versus model method
Swea Fong Ng, Institute of Education, Singapore, sweefong.ng@nie.edu.sg

15:30-15:45 Understanding the function concept in
a context-based, collaborative
learning environment
Angela Fatima Guzon, Ateneo de Manila University,
Philippines, afguzon@yahoo.com.au

15:45-16:00 Analysis of algebraic errors in applied calculus problem solving
Ahmed Usman, Federal College of Education, Nigeria, ahmediu22@yahoo.com

16:00-16:15 Elementary student's algebraic
reasoning abilities in mathematics problem
solving
Hwa Young Lee, Jeongwang Elementary School, Korea, bornapril@hanmail.net
KyungYoon Chang, Konkuk University, Korea, kchang@konkuk.ac.kr

Session IV July 14, Sat, 10:30-12:00

Room 309

10:30-11:00 Fraction knowledge and equation
writing: The cases of Peter and Willa
Mi Yeon Lee, Indiana University, United Srates, miyelee@indiana.edu

11:00-11:15 Study on the learning of quadratic
equation through proportions on the
dynamic environment
Okyo Yoon, Hee-chan Lew Korea National University, of Education
okyoyoon@hanmail.net, (hclew@Knve.ac.kr)

11:15-12:00 Whole group discussion

Room 310

10:30-10:45 Reproduction of algebraic structures by 16-18 year old students
Danellys Vega-Castro, Marta Molina, Encarnacion
Castro, University of Granada,
danelly@correo.ugr.es, martamg@ugr.es,
encastro@ugr.es

10:45-11:00 Dynamic geometry and conceptualization processes of parameters in
secondary education
Teresa Bernal Diaz, Maria Teresa Rojano Ceballos,
CINVESTAV-IPN, Mexico dany_tere40@yahoo.com.mx,
rojanot@gmail.com

11:00-11:15 Development and Use of a Diagnostic
Tool in Elementary Algebra Using an Online Item
Bank
Brigitte Grugeon-Allys, LDAR, France,
brigitte.grugeon@univ-paris-diderot.fr; Francoise
Chenevotot-Quentin, University Paris
Diderot-Paris 7, France,
francoise.chenevotot@univ-paris-diderot.fr;
Elisabeth Delozanne, LDAR, France,
elisabeth.delozanne@lip6.fr; Julia Pilet,
University Paris Diderot-Paris 7, France,
julia.pilet@paris7.jussieu.fr.

******************************************
--
Jerry P. Becker
Dept. of Curriculum & Instruction
Southern Illinois University
625 Wham Drive
Mail Code 4610
Carbondale, IL 62901-4610
Phone: (618) 453-4241 [O]
(618) 457-8903 [H]
Fax: (618) 453-4244
E-mail: jbecker@siu.edu



Point your RSS reader here for a feed of the latest messages in this topic.

[Privacy Policy] [Terms of Use]

© Drexel University 1994-2014. All Rights Reserved.
The Math Forum is a research and educational enterprise of the Drexel University School of Education.