Drexel dragonThe Math ForumDonate to the Math Forum



Search All of the Math Forum:

Views expressed in these public forums are not endorsed by Drexel University or The Math Forum.


Math Forum » Discussions » Education » math-teach

Topic: FWD>RE>Why Study Mathematic
Replies: 2   Last Post: Dec 16, 1995 5:37 PM

Advanced Search

Back to Topic List Back to Topic List Jump to Tree View Jump to Tree View   Messages: [ Previous | Next ]
John Luedeman

Posts: 3
Registered: 12/6/04
FWD>RE>Why Study Mathematic
Posted: Dec 13, 1995 4:26 PM
  Click to see the message monospaced in plain text Plain Text   Click to reply to this topic Reply

Mail*Link(r) SMTP FWD>RE>Why Study Mathematics?

I pass these comments from a colleague onto the list.

John Luedeman

--------------------------------------
Date: 12/13/95 4:07 PM
From: Robert Jamison
Reply to: RE>Why Study Mathematics?

There are two types of errors in education, just as in hypothesis testing.
In one we raise standards so high that only a few can attain them. In the
other, we push standards so low that, altho easy to attain, they are
meaningless. American education has committed itself to the second error
with grim determination. If Meiklejohn is right, and I believe he is, then
he has clearly pointed out the deadly flaw in the American educational system.
The great mass of people never were, and never will be interested, in
"cultivation". Nor should they be. There is a role for both the skilled
worker and the refined thinker in society. Both deserve respect and both
deserve adequate training. Our present system provides neither.
Robert Jamison

--------------------------------------
Date: 12/11/95 4:04 PM
To: Robert Jamison
From: John Luedeman
Mail*Link(r) SMTP Why Study Mathematics?

Any comments? Why study Math?

--------------------------------------
Date: 12/11/95 3:13 PM
From: Lou Talman
"Just as in his mother's womb each man receives his full
complement of limbs---hands, feet, tongue, etc.---although
all men are not to be artificers, runners, scribes, or
orators; so at school all men should be taught whatever
concerns man, though in after life some things will be of
more use to one man, others to another."

--Comenius

"We Americans are determined that there shall not be in our
society two kinds of people. We will not have two kinds of
schools--one for gentlemen and ladies, the other for workers
and servants. We believe that every man and woman should be
a `worker.' We believe that every man should be
`cultivated.' We believe that all men and women should be
governed. All the members of our society must have both
liberal and vocational education. There shall be one set,
and only one set, of schools for all people. The first
postulate of a democracy is equality of education."
--Alexander Meiklejohn

"A democracy that is interested in its future will give each
of its members as much liberal education as he can take, nor
will it let him elect to miss that much because he is in a
hurry to become something less than a man. It is obvious
that all cannot be philosopher-kings, but it is just as
obvious that all must not be less than they are; and a
democracy must be prepared to give the entire quantity of
itself that can be taken."
--Mark Van Doren

------------------ RFC822 Header Follows ------------------
Received: by quickmail.clemson.edu with SMTP;11 Dec 1995 15:05:17 -0500
Received: from talmanl.mscd.edu (talmanl.mscd.edu [147.153.60.17]) by
forum.swarthmore.edu (8.6.11/8.6.6) with SMTP id OAA21609 for
<nctm-l@forum.swarthmore.edu>; Mon, 11 Dec 1995 14:09:29 -0500
Received: by talmanl.mscd.edu (NX5.67d/NX3.0M)
id AA00231; Mon, 11 Dec 95 12:08:46 -0700
Date: Mon, 11 Dec 95 12:08:46 -0700
From: Lou Talman <me@talmanl.mscd.edu>
Message-Id: <9512111908.AA00231@talmanl.mscd.edu>
Received: by NeXT.Mailer (1.95)
Received: by NeXT Mailer (1.95)
To: "Rebecca Corwin" <Rebecca_Corwin@TERC.EDU>
Subject: Re: Boeing math
Cc: "Jack Roach" <jroach@neosoft.com>, "Marc Vidulich" <vidulich@iol.ie>,
nctm-l@forum.swarthmore.edu




------------------ RFC822 Header Follows ------------------
Received: by quickmail.clemson.edu with SMTP;11 Dec 1995 15:50:12 -0500
Received: from quickmail.clemson.edu (quickmail.clemson.edu [130.127.8.57]) by
CLEMSON.EDU (8.7.1/8.7.1) with SMTP id PAA26619; Mon, 11 Dec 1995 15:46:29
-0500 (EST)
Message-ID: <n1393425503.16866@quickmail.clemson.edu>
Date: 11 Dec 1995 15:29:39 -0500
From: "John Luedeman" <John_Luedeman@quickmail.clemson.edu>
Subject: Why Study Mathematics?
To: "DON BAILES" <BAILES@ETSU.East-Tenn-St.Edu>,
"Dennis Bartels" <dbartels@ssi.edc.org>,
"Walt Castro" <WCASTRO@SCUREF.CLEMSON.EDU>,
"Starlett Craig" <cstarle@CLEMSON.EDU>,
"Doris Helms" <BIOL110@CLEMSON.EDU>,
"Peter HOLMES" <P.HOLMES@SHEFFIELD.AC.UK>,
"Robert Jamison" <REJAM@CLEMSON.EDU>,
"Charles Jennett" <JENNETJ@CLEMSON.EDU>,
"Bob Kansky" <KANSKY_R@MSMAIL.MUOHIO.EDU>,
"Henry Kepner" <hkepner@note.nsf.gov>,
"BILL LEONARD" <LEONARD@CLEMSON.EDU>,
"Tony Lopez" <lopez%loynovm.BITNET@INTERBIT.UGA.EDU>,
"Fred McMorris" <frmcmo01@homer.louisville.edu>,
"Walter Mientka" <WALTER@AMC.UNL.EDU>,
"Bob Snelsire" <NTBSNLS@prism.clemson.edu>,
"DeWitt Stone" <DBSTONE@CLEMSON.EDU>,
"JOHN WAGNER" <JRWGNR@CLEMSON.EDU>,
"DAVID WEATHERFORD" <DWTHRFR@prism.clemson.edu>,
"BILL WEST" <WEWEST@CLEMSON.EDU>,
"Calvin Williams" <CALVINW@prism.clemson.edu>,
"BOBBY WIXSON" <BGW@CLEMSON.EDU>,
"Joel Brawley" <Joel_Brawley@quickmail.clemson.edu>,
"Lin Dearing" <Lin_Dearing@quickmail.clemson.edu>,
"Iris Fetta" <Iris_Fetta@quickmail.clemson.edu>,
"Peggy Garner" <Peggy_Garner@quickmail.clemson.edu>,
"Charlie Harden" <Charlie_Harden@quickmail.clemson.edu>,
"Bill Hare" <Bill_Hare@quickmail.clemson.edu>,
"Robert Jamison" <Robert_Jamison@quickmail.clemson.edu>,
"John Kenelly" <John_Kenelly@quickmail.clemson.edu>,
"Don LaTorre" <Don_LaTorre@quickmail.clemson.edu>,
"Jeuel LaTorre" <Jeuel_LaTorre@quickmail.clemson.edu>,
"John Luedeman" <John_Luedeman@quickmail.clemson.edu>,
"Steve Melsheimer" <Steve_Melsheimer@quickmail.clemson.edu>,
"Frances Sullivan" <Frances_Sullivan@quickmail.clemson.edu>,
"Ted Wallenius" <Ted_Wallenius@quickmail.clemson.edu>
X-Mailer: Mail*Link SMTP-QM 3.0.2




------------------ RFC822 Header Follows ------------------
Received: by quickmail.clemson.edu with SMTP;13 Dec 1995 15:51:38 -0500
Received: from quickmail.clemson.edu (quickmail.clemson.edu [130.127.8.57]) by
CLEMSON.EDU (8.7.1/8.7.1) with SMTP id PAA00816; Wed, 13 Dec 1995 15:47:53
-0500 (EST)
Message-ID: <n1393252625.17618@quickmail.clemson.edu>
Date: 13 Dec 1995 15:31:50 -0500
From: "Robert Jamison" <Robert_Jamison@quickmail.clemson.edu>
Subject: Re: Why Study Mathematics?
To: "Bill Hare" <Bill_Hare@quickmail.clemson.edu>,
"BILL LEONARD" <LEONARD@CLEMSON.EDU>, "BILL WEST"
<WEWEST@CLEMSON.EDU>,
"Bob Kansky" <KANSKY_R@MSMAIL.MUOHIO.EDU>,
"Bob Snelsire" <NTBSNLS@prism.clemson.edu>,
"BOBBY WIXSON" <BGW@CLEMSON.EDU>,
"Calvin Williams" <CALVINW@prism.clemson.edu>,
"Charles Jennett" <JENNETJ@CLEMSON.EDU>,
"Charlie Harden" <Charlie_Harden@quickmail.clemson.edu>,
"DAVID WEATHERFORD" <DWTHRFR@prism.clemson.edu>,
"Dennis Bartels" <dbartels@ssi.edc.org>,
"DeWitt Stone" <DBSTONE@CLEMSON.EDU>,
"DON BAILES" <BAILES@ETSU.East-Tenn-St.Edu>,
"Don LaTorre" <Don_LaTorre@quickmail.clemson.edu>,
"Doris Helms" <BIOL110@CLEMSON.EDU>,
"Frances Sullivan" <Frances_Sullivan@quickmail.clemson.edu>,
"Fred McMorris" <frmcmo01@homer.louisville.edu>,
"Henry Kepner" <hkepner@note.nsf.gov>,
"Iris Fetta" <Iris_Fetta@quickmail.clemson.edu>,
"Jeuel LaTorre" <Jeuel_LaTorre@quickmail.clemson.edu>,
"Joel Brawley" <Joel_Brawley@quickmail.clemson.edu>,
"John Kenelly" <John_Kenelly@quickmail.clemson.edu>,
"John Luedeman" <John_Luedeman@quickmail.clemson.edu>,
"JOHN WAGNER" <JRWGNR@CLEMSON.EDU>,
"Lin Dearing" <Lin_Dearing@quickmail.clemson.edu>,
"Peggy Garner" <Peggy_Garner@quickmail.clemson.edu>,
"Peter HOLMES" <P.HOLMES@SHEFFIELD.AC.UK>,
"Robert Jamison" <Robert_Jamison@quickmail.clemson.edu>,
"Robert Jamison" <REJAM@CLEMSON.EDU>,
"Starlett Craig" <cstarle@CLEMSON.EDU>,
"Steve Melsheimer" <Steve_Melsheimer@quickmail.clemson.edu>,
"Ted Wallenius" <Ted_Wallenius@quickmail.clemson.edu>,
"Tony Lopez" <lopez%loynovm.BITNET@uga.cc.uga.edu>,
"Walt Castro" <WCASTRO@SCUREF.CLEMSON.EDU>,
"Walter Mientka" <WALTER@AMC.UNL.EDU>
X-Mailer: Mail*Link SMTP-QM 3.0.2








Point your RSS reader here for a feed of the latest messages in this topic.

[Privacy Policy] [Terms of Use]

© Drexel University 1994-2014. All Rights Reserved.
The Math Forum is a research and educational enterprise of the Drexel University School of Education.