The Math Forum

Search All of the Math Forum:

Views expressed in these public forums are not endorsed by NCTM or The Math Forum.

Math Forum » Discussions » Policy and News » mathed-news

Notice: We are no longer accepting new posts, but the forums will continue to be readable.

Topic: NSTA Legislative Update
Replies: 0  

Advanced Search

Back to Topic List Back to Topic List  
Jerry P. Becker

Posts: 16,576
Registered: 12/3/04
NSTA Legislative Update
Posted: Mar 2, 1999 2:19 PM
  Click to see the message monospaced in plain text Plain Text   Click to reply to this topic Reply

NSTA Legislative Alert

March 2, 1999

Show Your Support for Ed-Flex Amendment

The Education Flexibility Partnership Act of 1999 (ED-Flex) is moving
quickly in the House of Representatives.

Background: Ed Flex is currently a pilot program in 12 states. Ed-Flex gives
the Department of Education authority to waive the requirements on specific
federal programs (including Title I and Eisenhower) and allows states and
districts to use these funds in other areas.

In the House of Representatives: The Ed-Flex bill (H.R. 800) is scheduled to
be debated by the Education and Workforce Committee tomorrow, Wednesday
March 3. As part of this debate we anticipate that Representative Rush Holt
(D-NJ) will offer an amendment to the bill.

The amendment would require that school districts seeking to waive Part B of
Title II (the Eisenhower state grants) must first document how the
professional development needs of science and math teachers in their
district or school will be met.

Science and math educators need to generate support in the Education
Committee for Rep. Holt’s amendment. If you are a constituent of any member
of the House Education and Workforce Committee listed below, PLEASE call
them today and ask them to support Rep. Holt’s amendment to H.R. 800.

William Goodling, (PA) Chairman 202-225-5836
Thomas Petri, (WI) 202-225-2476
Marge Roukema, (NJ) 202-225-4465
Cass Ballenger, (NC) 202-225-2576
Bill Barrett, (NE) 202-225-6435
John Boehner, (OH) 202-225-6205
Peter Hoekstra, (MI) 202-225-4401
Howard "Buck" McKeon, (CA) 202-225-1956
Michael Castle, (DE) 202-225-4165
Sam Johnson, (TX) 202-225-4201
James Talent, (MO) 202-225-2561
James Greenwood, (PA) 202-225-4276
Lindsey Graham, (SC) 202-225-5301
Mark Souder, (IN) 202-225-4436
David McIntosh, (IN) 202-225-3021
Charlie Norwood, (GA) 202-225-4101
Ron Paul, (TX) 202-225-2831
Bob Schaffer, (CO) 202-225-4676
Fred Upton, (MI) 202-225-3761
Nathan Deal, (GA) 202-225-5211
Van Hilleary, (TN) 202-225-6831
Vernon Ehlers, (MI) 202-225-3831
Matt Salmon, (AZ) 202-225-2635
Tom Tancredo, (CO) 202-225-7882
Ernie Fletcher, (KY) 202-225-4706
Jim DeMint, (SC) 202-225-6030

William Clay, (MO) 202-225-2406
George Miller, (CA) 202-225-2095
Dale Kildee, (MI) 202-225-3611
Matthew Martinez, (CA) 202-225-5464
Major Owens, (NY) 202-225-6231
Donald Payne, (NJ) 202-225-3436
Patsy Mink, (HI) 202-225-4906
Robert Andrews, (NJ) 202-225-6501
Tim Roemer, (IN) 202-225-3915
Bobby Scott, (VA) 202-225-8351
Lynn Woolsey, (CA) 202-225-5161
Carlos Romero-Barcelo, (P.R.) 202-225-2615
Chaka Fatttah, (PA) 202-225-4001
Ruben Hinojosa, (TX) 202-225-2531
Carolyn McCarthy, (NY) 202-225-5516
John Tierney, (MA) 202-225-8020
Ron Kind, (WI) 202-225-5506
Loretta Sanchez, (CA) 202-225-2965
Harold Ford, Jr., (TN) 202-225-3265
Dennis Kucinich, (OH) 202-225-5871
David Wu, (OR) 202-225-0855
Rush Holt, (NJ) 202-225-5801

We especially need readers of this list who are constituents of these
Representatives to call and ask them to support Rep. Holt’s amendment to
H.R. 800.

Marge Roukema, (NJ) 202-225-4465
James Talent, (MO) 202-225-2561
James Greenwood, (PA) 202-225-4276
Vernon Ehlers, (MI) 202-225-3831
Michael Castle, (DE) 202-225-4165
Charlie Norwood, (GA) 202-225-4101
Fred Upton, (MI) 202-225-3761
Mark Souder, (IN) 202-225-4436

If you are not sure about who your U.S. Representative is, please visit this
website for that information:

The letter NSTA sent to members of the Committee from Gerry Wheeler follows.

This is critical; we need to show support for this amendment so that we can
preserve some accountability for science and math education in this bill and
not allow the Eisenhower program to be summarily waived. PLEASE take a
moment to call your Rep. today!

March 2, 1999

The Honorable
House Education and Workforce Committee
Washington, DC 20515

Dear Representative :

On behalf of the members of the National Science Teachers Association, we
urge you to support an amendment to be offered during the House Education
and the Workforce Committee meeting by Representative Rush Holt to H.R. 800,
The Educational Flexibility Partnership Act of 1999.

The amendment would require that school districts seeking to waive Part B of
Title II, Eisenhower Professional Development state grants, must first
document how the professional development needs of science and math teachers
in their district or school will be met.

With Part B Title II grants, science teachers are working to align their
science curricula with challenging state frameworks or the National Science
Education Standards. They are learning how to integrate science with the
other disciplines, and how to teach using the Internet and other
technologies. Elementary teachers with little or no science background are
learning how to effectively teach hands-on science to young, impressionable

Science teachers nationwide are alarmed about these programs if districts
and states are allowed to summarily waive the Eisenhower program under
Ed-Flex. For many science teachers, the Eisenhower Professional Development
state grants are the only source of funds available to them so they can
pursue ongoing, sustained professional development opportunities.

In recent months the Department of Education and Congress have initiated a
number of K-12 programs which focus specifically on certain core subjects.
These include: America Reads, America Counts, and Technology in Education
Grants, in addition to Title I monies for reading and math teacher training
and IDEA funding for special educators. Science educators do not benefit
from these newly authorized programs.

Over the years, Congress has maintained its longstanding federal priority in
support of math and science education with the Eisenhower program. Now we
seek your continued commitment to science education by asking for your
support of Representative Holt’s amendment to H.R. 800.

Dr. Gerald Wheeler
Executive Director

Jodi Peterson
Editor, NSTA Reports!
Director, Legislative Affairs

Jerry P. Becker
Dept. of Curriculum & Instruction
Southern Illinois University
Carbondale, IL 62901-4610 USA
Fax: (618)453-4244
Phone: (618)453-4241 (office)

Point your RSS reader here for a feed of the latest messages in this topic.

[Privacy Policy] [Terms of Use]

© The Math Forum at NCTM 1994-2018. All Rights Reserved.